India formally divides the State of Jammu & Kashmir

Share Button

India has formally divided the State of Jammu & Kashmir into two new federally-administered territories.

In the new arrangement, Jammu & Kashmir is one territory, and Ladakh -which borders China – is separate.
It is part of a controversial move announced in August, to tighten the Indian government’s control over the part of Kashmir it administers.

The two new ‘union territories’ are now ruled directly from the capital, New Delhi.
‘Union territories’ have far less autonomy from the federal government than ‘states’ do.

The former ‘state’ has long been one of the world’s most dangerous flashpoints, and is a highly militarised area.
India and Pakistan both claim Kashmir in full, but control only parts of it.

Share Button

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *