Prime Minister Mahinda Rajapaksa assumes duties

Share Button

Mahinda Rajapaksa took oaths as the Prime Minister this afternoon before President Gotabhaya Rajapaksa at the Presidential Secretariat. He also assumed duties in his post this afternoon. Mahinda Rajapaksa contested for Beliatta seat in 1970 from Sri Lanka Freedom Party and he was the youngest member to enter that parliament. He entered parliament in 1989 from the Hambantota district and re-elected to parliament in 1994 from the united peoples freedom alliance and became the labour minister of the government of Chandrika Kumarathunga. Thereafter he was appointed as the minister of fisheries and aquatic resources. After the 2001 general election Mahinda Rajapaksa became the opposition leader and after 2004 general election he took oaths as Sri Lanka’s 13th Prime Minister. He also held the portfolio of the Minister of Highways. From 2005 to 2015 Mahinda Rajapaksa was the executive president of Sri Lanka. In 2015 he was elected to parliament from the Kurunegala District and held the post of Prime Minister for a brief period and thereafter remained as the opposition leader.

Share Button

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

COVID-19 Situation Report
2020-Jul-03 | 05:07

Total Confirmed Cases - 2,066
Active Cases - 228
New Cases - 00
Total number of individuals in hospitals - 58
Recovered & Discharged - 1,827
Deaths - 11