Landslide early warnings for seven districts

Share Button

The National Building Research Organisation ( NBRO) today issued landslide early warnings for Ratnapura, Nuwara Eliya, Kandy, Kegalle, Kalutara, Galle and Matara districts.

People in those areas were asked to be watchful on sudden appearance of water sprouts, cracks on walls and on the soil as these may be signs of impending landslides. Meanwhile the met department said that Eheliyagoda area has received the maximum rainfall of 180 milimeters during last 24 hours ended at 6 a.m. today. Kalutara,Ingiriya,Palindanuwara,Padukka,Hanwella, and Veyangoda areas have also received over 100 millimeters of rain yesterday.

Share Button

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *