Seven new Covid-19 fatalities push death toll to 116

Share Button

Sri Lanka’s Covid-19 death toll climbed to 116 as seven new fatalities were confirmed yesterday(29), the Director-General of Health Services said.


According to the Government Information Department, the victims were identified from Colombo, Gothatuwa, Moratuwa, Chilaw and Akuressa areas.


Six of the fatalities have been reported from hospitals while the remaining one was determined as a home death.



The details of the victims are as follows:


A 50-year-old woman residing in Colombo 12 had passed away on Saturday (28) while receiving treatment in the Intensive Care Unit (ICU) of Mulleriyawa Base Hospital. She was initially admitted to the Colombo National Hospital after testing positive for the virus. The post-mortem examination revealed that she died of Covid-19 pneumonia and chronic lung disease.


The second victim was identified as a 48-year-old male who died of chronic lung disease and diabetes exacerbated by Covid-19 infection. The authorities revealed that he had passed away on Friday (27) at his home in Gothatuwa area.


In the meantime, a 70-year-old from Chilaw fell victim to the virus today (29) while receiving treatment at the Chilaw Base Hospital. The cause of death was cited as diabetes, high blood pressure and Covid-19 pneumonia.


A 73-year-old male from Moratuwa, who was under medical care at Homagama Base Hospital, also passed away yesterday(29). He has died of pneumonia exacerbated by Covid-19 infection.


The Army Commander Lieutenant General Shavendra Silva says the isolation status in Pettah, Foreshore and Mattakkuliya police areas in Colombo District and Negombo and Ragama police areas in Gampaha District has been lifted at 5 a.m. today. He said isolation status will continue in Modara, Bloemendhal, Kotahena, Grandpass, Dam Street, Aduruppu Street, Maligawatte, Dematagoda, Keselwatta police areas and Wekanda and Wanatamulla Grama Nildari Divisions.

The Army Commander said Randiya Uyana Housing Scheme and South of Ferguson Road in Mattakkuliya police area and Laksanda Sevana Housing Scheme, Sala-mulla Grama Niladari Division and Wijayapura Grama Niladari Division in Wellampitiya police area will be declared as new isolated areas effective from 5 a.m. today.

He added that isolation status will continue in Kelaniya, Wattala and Peliyagoda police areas in Gampaha District.


Share Button

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *