Parliament met today at 10.00 am under the chairmanship Speaker Karu Jayasoorioya

Share Button

Parliament met today at 10.00 am under the chairmanship Speaker Karu Jayasoorioya, Secretary General of Parliament Dhammika Dasanayaka read out statement of the President. The Speaker requested the members of parliament to behave in a manner that does not disturb the business of the house.

MP M.A. Sumanthiran proposed to suspend the standing order for today. MP Anura Kumara Dissanayake seconded the motion today. Leader of the House Dinesh Gunawardena said that no opportunity to move such a motion today under the standing orders.

Uproar erupted in the House at this moment and Speaker said that a decision will be taken through a vote. But, the minister Wimal Weerawansa said that the Speaker was not following the parliamentary tradition. Subsequently, a vote was taken on the suspension of standing orders.

The vote was taken by voice. The Speaker announced that a majority of vote was in favour of the motion for a suspension of standing orders and the motion was accepted.

Subsequently, MP Anura Kumara Disanayake moved a no confidence motion against Prime Minister Mahinda Rajapakse and the cabinet. MP Vijitha Herath seconded the motion. Leader of the House said that there is no provision to present a motion in such a way. But, a vote was taken by voice over the no confidence motion and the Speaker announced that the motion has been passed by a majority.

Share Button

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *