France won the Fifa World Cup for the second time by overcoming Croatia, in a thrilling final at Moscow’s Luzhniki Stadium.

Share Button

France won the Fifa World Cup for the second time by overcoming Croatia’s bold challenge in a thrilling final at Moscow’s Luzhniki Stadium. Didier Deschamps’ side repeated the success on home soil at France in way back in 1998, by a margin that hardly looked possible, as Croatia stood toe-to-toe with the favourites for an hour.
France’s victory meant Deschamps, who captained them 20 years ago, became just the third man to win the competition as a player and coach.

In one of the most exciting World Cup finals of the modern era, Croatia and France delivered an enthralling spectacle that brought the joint highest goal tally in a final since 1958, a pitch invasion, and a controversial intervention from the video assistant referee that had a huge influence on the outcome.

France took the lead after 18 minutes when Antoine Griezmann’s free-kick deflected in off Mario Mandzukic’s head – but Croatia were by far the better side in the first half and deservedly equalised, courtesy of Ivan Perisic’s left-foot finish. Croatia also felt their luck deserted them, and ultimately France ran out victorious to erase the memories of the loss to Portugal in the Euro 2016 final in Paris.

Russian President Vladimir Putin who was the chief guest at the award presentation ceremony, praised and congratulated the winning France team for their excellent performance. He presented the awards to the winning team.

Coach: Didier Deschamps says, the World Cup win for France is the “supreme coronation”, after the “hurt” of losing in the last European Championship Final. They lost 1-0 to Portugal in the Final of the Euro 2016, which they hosted.
However, they beat Croatia 4-2 in Moscow yesterday to become world champions for the second time in their history.
It was Deschamps who captained France to glory in 1998.


England’s Captain: Harry Kane has won the Golden Boot, after finishing as the World Cup’s Top Scorer, with Croatia’s Luka Modric winning the Golden Ball for being the Player of the Tournament.
Belgium Midfielder: Eden Hazard was the Second-Best Player, with France Forward: Antoine Griezmann third.
His French team-mate: Kylian Mbappe won the Young Player Award.
Belgium’s Thibaut Courtois was awarded the Golden Glove for being the Leading Goalkeeper

Share Button

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *